Dr. Jochen Herbst


Dr. Jochen Herbst has more than ten years of professional experience. For several years, Mr. Herbst has worked in the New York and Duesseldorf offices of the international top-tier US law firm Shearman & Sterling. Afterwards Dr. Herbst has been equity partner in a regional mid-sized law. Also due to his performance contribution, this law firm has been chosen to be nominated Medium-sized Law Firm of the Year in Germany in 2007 by the publisher’s board of the well-known JUVE Verlag.
 
Since 2003, Mr. Herbst is also acting as a lecturing professor at the University of Cologne. Dr. Herbst (co-)published numerous legal articles and two books. Dr. Herbst’s most recent publication is a law book on International Economic Law published by the prestigious German C. F. Müller Verlag.
 
Dr. Herbst’s practice is focused on German general corporate and investment law, private equity, venture capital, funds, mergers, acquisitions and joint ventures. Dr. Herbst’s experience covers a wide array of industries (including biotechnology, life sciences, renewable energy chemicals, consulting business etc.).
 
Dr. Herbst’s M&A, venture capital and capital markets experience includes numerous acquisitions, cross-border mergers (including publicly listed companies and funds), dual listings on stock exchanges both in Germany and the US, as well as financing rounds for venture capitalists (including tax structuring). He has also advised clients in joint ventures. Dr. Herbst regularly advises clients in the formation and structuring of early stage technology companies, particularly in the area of biotechnology, life sciences, health care, renewable energy and consulting.
 
Representative Experience of Dr. Herbst encompasses the following:
  • Underwriters’ counsel for a dual listing of a leading international medical care company on both the Frankfurt stock exchange (DAX 30) and the NYSE regarding the company’s then-largest issuance of shares
  • Co-counsel for the sale of a large German manufacturing company valued at EUR 4 billion
  • Issuer’s counsel in a Prime Standard IPO at the Frankfurt Stock Exchange of a German biotech company
  • Advising on numerous other mid-cap share and asset deals
 Schlieen

Dr. Jochen Herbst


Dr. Jochen Herbst verfügt über eine mehr als zehnjährige Berufserfahrung. Für einige Jahre war Herr Dr. Herbst als Rechtsanwalt in den New Yorker und Düsseldorfer Büros der internationalen top-tier U.S. Kanzlei Shearman & Sterling tätig. Anschließend war Dr. Herbst Equity Partner einer regionalen mittelständischen Kanzlei. Auch aufgrund seines Leistungsbeitrages wurde diese Kanzlei von der Redaktion des JUVE-Verlages 2007 zur deutschen Mittelständischen Kanzlei des Jahres nominiert.
 
Seit 2003 ist Herr Dr. Herbst zudem als Lehrbeauftragter an der Universität zu Köln tätig. Dr. Herbst ist (Co-)Autor zahlreicher juristischer Artikel und von zwei Büchern. Die jüngste Publikation ist ein im prestigeträchtigen C. F. Müller-Verlag erschienenes Lehrbuch zum Internationalen Wirtschaftsrecht.
 
Die anwaltliche Praxis von Dr. Herbst fokussiert sich auf das Gesellschafts-, Kapitalmarkt- und Investitionsrecht. Private Equity, Venture Capital, Fonds, M&A sowie Joint Ventures gehören zu den Schwerpunktbereichen der Beratung von Dr. Herbst. Die Erfahrung von Dr. Herbst deckt eine Vielzahl von Branchen ab, wie zum Beispiel Biotechnologie, Life Sciences, Erneuerbare Energien, Chemische Industrie und Beratungsunternehmen, um nur einige Beispiele zu nennen.
 
Beispielhafte Praxiserfahrungen von Dr. Herbst umfassen die Tätigkeit als:
  • Underwriters’ Counsel bei einem dual listing einer führenden deutschen Gesellschaft der medizinischen Industrie sowohl an der Frankfurter wie an der New Yorker Wertpapierbörse
  • Co-Counsel bei dem Verkauf einer großen deutschen Gesellschaft der produzierenden Industrie (Dealvolumen ca. EUR 4 Milliarden)
  • Issuer’s Counsel bei einem Prime Standard IPO an der Frankfurter Wertpapierbörse einer deutschen Biotech-Gesellschaft
  • Begleitung zahlreicher Share- und Asset-Deals im Mid Cap-Bereich
 Schlieen